Security Guard License Oregon requires its prospective security guards applying for license to:
1. at least 18 years-old for unarmed guards,
2. at least 21 years old for armed guards
3. Citizen or resident of the United States
Oregon Security Guard Fees:
Criminal History Fingerprint Fee - $50.00
Certification (2 yr.) fee - $50.00
The amount of training guards receive varies. Training requirements are higher for armed guards because their employers are legally responsible for any use of force. Armed guards receive formal training in areas such as weapons retention and laws covering the use of force.
Guards who carry weapons must be licensed by the appropriate government authority, and some receive further certification as special police officers, which allows them to make limited types of arrests while on duty. Armed guard positions have more stringent background checks and entry requirements than those of unarmed guards because of greater insurance liability risks. Compared to unarmed security guards, armed guards and special police typically enjoy higher earnings and benefits, greater job security, more advancement potential, and usually are given more training and responsibility.
Interested applicants may visit:
Department of Public Safety Standards and Training